League Champs

2003 2012
2004 2013
2009 2014
2010 2016

Mohawks Hold Off Dutchmen, 6-3

By Jon Sargalis

Box Score

The Mohawks won their eighth game in a row Saturday night in Albany as they held off a late Dutchmen rally to win 6-3.

The Mohawks jumped out to an early lead in the first inning as Gage Miller scored on a Cade Bush groundout to make it 1-0.

That would be the only run scored until the sixth inning as Mohawks starter Collin Brougham pitched 5 shutout innings allowing 4 hits and 1 walk with 4 strikeouts.

In the sixth, the Mohawks added 2 unearned runs as errors by the right fielder and shortstop allowed Cameron Love and Hunter Thomas to score to make it 3-0.

In the seventh Gage Miller scored on Cade Bush sac-fly to make it 4-0. In the bottom of the inning, Von Baker struck out his first batter and then walked the next 3 which brought Ryan Van Buren into the game. He walked Max Gebauer which forced in Danny Rogers to make it 4-1. Then Anthony Raimo Jr. drove in Matt Bergevin on a flyout to make it 4-2.

In the eighth, Van Buren walked the first batter he faced and Santhosh Gottam entered the game. Nick Schwartz would drive in Caden Shapiro with a single to cut the Dutchmen deficit to 1, making it 4-3. With runners on first and second, Gottam was able to get 2 strikeouts and a fly out to end the inning.

In the ninth, Connor Moore picked a great time for his first home run of the season as the 2-run homer provided the Mohawks with a 6-3 cushion.  

Gottam came back out for the bottom of the ninth, he struck out the first batter, then a walk and an error brough the tying run up to the plate. Connor Whittaker was summoned from the bullpen and got a strikeout and ground out to end the game and earn his second save of the season.

Collin Brougham improved to 2-0 for the 28-4 Mohawks, while Arlo Marynczak fell to 1-2 for the 16-14 Dutchmen. Hunter Thomas went 3-for-4 for the Mohawks and Nick Schwartz went 3-for-4 with a double and an RBI for the Dutchmen.

Both teams are off on Sunday before they have a rematch with each other on Monday night in Amsterdam at 6:35.

More News Articles