League Champs

2003 2012
2004 2013
2009 2014
2010 2016

Albany Walks Off Again

By John McGraw

Box Score     ScoreCast

Nate Rupiper (Memphis) smashed an RBI double in the bottom of the 11th that scored Brian Ruhm (UC Davis) from second with the winning run as the ninth nationally-ranked Dutchmen earned a walk-off sweep over the Mohawks.

This lowscoring thriller heated up in the seventh when RBI singles by Amsterdam’s Jordan Ebert (Auburn) and John Sansone (Florida State) gave the Mohawks a 2-1 advantage.

Albany drew level in the eighth. Joe Purritano (Dartmouth), who drove in Albany’s first run in the fifth, socked a lead-off single and then scored from first on a Matt Dacey (Michigan) double.

The game remained even until the 11th. Brian Ruhm worked a lead-off walk and then stole second to set the stage for Rupiper’s winning knock. Albany’s Thomas Belcher (Indiana) slung three innings of scoreless relief to earn the win.

Neither starter figured in the decision though both pitched well. Amsterdam’s Matt Snyder (FMCC) allowed one run on three hits over five innings while Albany’s James Davitt (Bryant) yielded two runs on five hits and struck out four in 6.2 frames.






More News Articles