League Champs

2003 2013
2004 2014
2009 2016
2010 2019
2012 2022

Mohawks Trounce Pioneers in Battle of Division Leaders

By Cody Marshall

Box Score

The Amsterdam Mohawks jumped out to an early lead and never looked back on their way to an 11-2 win over the Elmira Pioneers on Wednesday night at Shuttleworth Park.

The Mohawks were led by starting pitcher Austin Bain (LSU) after he went four scoreless innings, allowing four hits, walking one, and striking out nine in his debut for the club. Offensively, Brendan Tracy (Fairfield) clubbed his league leading sixth home run, while Aidan McDermott (St. John’s) provided a two-run shot of his own.

Amsterdam got to Elmira starter Jared Proctor (Kentucky) early as the first three batters all reached base in the first inning. Tracy and Handsome Monica (Arizona) worked back-to-back RBI walks before Tyler Kirkpatrick (Marist) drove in two with a double to make it 4-0 Mohawks. In the bottom of the second, Justin Yurchak (Wake Forest) walked with one out before Hunter Tackett (Auburn) doubled. Both would score after an errant throw went out of play, making it 6-0 Amsterdam.

McDermott and Kyle Dean (BYU) recorded back-to-back one-out singles in the bottom of the third and scored when the catcher tried to hold back a throw and the ball skipped off the turf and out of play. In the bottom of the fifth, McDermott unloaded on a 3-2 pitch and sent it high over the left field wall after Kirkpatrick walked, making it 10-0. Tracy provided his solo shot to right center an inning later.

The lone runs for Elmira came on Keegan Maronpot’s (Wake Forest) two-run homer to left that made it 11-2.

The win went to Anthony Romanelli (Marist) as Bain didn’t go the minimum five innings required to get a win. He improved to 2-0 on the season after going two innings and striking out one. The loss was charged to Proctor who dropped to 0-3.

Amsterdam (18-6) will travel to Bellizzi Field to play the Albany Dutchmen on Thursday night at 7:05 p.m. Elmira (13-9) will return home to Dunn Field and host the Victor RailRiders at 7:05 p.m. on Thursday.

More News Articles