League Champs

2003 2012
2004 2013
2009 2014
2010 2016

Mohawks Win 2019 PGCBL Championship

By Jon Sargalis

Box Score

CBS 6 Highlights

Spectrum News Highlights

The Amsterdam Mohawks have won their fifth PGCBL Championship and their tenth Championship overall as they defeated the Adirondack Trail Blazers 10-4 on Wednesday night at Rao Family Stadium at Shuttleworth Park.

Adirondack was trying to force a Game 3 and scored 3 runs in the second inning off Mohawks starter Nick Massa. Steven Miller hit an RBI double that scored Vincent Cimini. Randy Flores drove in Zach Doss with a groundout and Connor Hamilton hit an RBI single that scored Steven Miller as the Trail Blazers took a 3-0 lead.

That lead was short lived as the Mohawks erupted for 6 runs in the third. Max Costes drove in Dalton Reese with a double and Mitch Hartigan followed with a double that scored Costes. The Mohawks tied the game at 3 as Richie Barrella hit a triple to score Hartigan. Michael Turconi gave the Mohawks the lead as Richie Barrella scored on a single and DJ Poteet added the explanation point with a 2-run home run over the left field fence as the Mohawks took a 6-3 lead.

In the fourth, Dalton Reese scored on a wild pitch to give Amsterdam a 7-3 lead. In the fifth, Paul Franzoni drove in Kevin Jimenez and Max Costes drove in DJ Poteet as the Mohawks took a 9-3 lead.

Nick Massa was electric on the mound. He went 6 innings, allowed 3 runs on 7 hits and 1 walk with 13 strikeouts. The final 6 outs Massa recorded were all by strikeout.

Massa turned the ball over to Dale Stanavich who delivered a scoreless seventh and Brendan Disonell pitched a scoreless eighth.

In the bottom of the eighth, Mitch Hartigan homered as the Mohawks brought a 10-3 lead into the final inning.

Trey Alderman came in for the final 3 outs, but Adirondack would not go down quietly as Chris Rotondo drove in Randy Flores with a single to make it 10-4. The game ended as Peter Cosentino took a called third strike.

The Mohawks went a perfect 5-0 in the playoffs and won their first championship since 2016. Max Costes was named the Finals MVP. In Game 2 Costes went 3-for-3 with a double, 2 RBI, 1 run, 1 walk and 2 stolen bases. That came off a Game 1 performance where he hit 2 home runs, with 3 RBI and 3 runs scored. 

More News Articles